Theatre Academy

We are a reformer of the performing arts and offer the highest education in theatre, dance and writing in Finland.

Three persons in a bright and spacious rehearsal room. Two are wearing costumes, third person is holding wires of lighting equipment.

About us

Uniarts Helsinki’s Theatre Academy offers bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral programmes in performing arts. Our graduates pursue careers as lighting and sound designers, dancers, choreographers, dance and theatre pedagogues, actors, directors, dramaturges and performance artists. We also offer a Degree Programme in Acting in Swedish.

Art, performances, education and research are in constant interaction with each other at the Theatre Academy. Acquiring a set of skills is the foundation to build off of, but the ultimate goal is to develop students’ thinking and help them grow into artists.

Performances are a significant part of the core of the teaching and research at Uniarts Helsinki’s Theatre Academy, which is why they are also included in the degree requirements. For students, performances are an instrument for producing art, a research tool and an opportunity for hands-on learning.

The Theatre Academy hosts about 50 premiers per year, and the majority of them are open to the public. Anyone can join the audience by purchasing a ticket from the Theatre Academy ticket sales.

Contact information

info.teak@uniarts.fi

Admissions services
teak.admissions@uniarts.fi

Tel. (phone operator) +358 294 47 2000

P.O. Box 20
FI-00097 UNIARTS

Studies

Our 14 degree programmes and centre for joint studies offer a variety of options. Find out more about our studies and admissions.

Research

We are a forerunner in artistic research in performing arts. Our research activities are run by The Performing Arts Research Centre Tutke.

Art and events

Through performance, our students get to make and explore art and learn by doing. Learn more about performances and events.

Deans

    • Maarit Ruikka

    • Dean, Theatre Academy
    • +358 400 792 099
    • Contact: aapo.juusti@uniarts.fi
    • Ville Sandqvist

    • Vice Dean, T/Johto, Theatre Academy
    • +358503090132
    • ville.sandqvist@uniarts.fi
    • Leena Rouhiainen

    • Professor, T/Esittävien taiteiden tutkimuskeskus, Theatre Academy
    • +358400792093
    • leena.rouhiainen@uniarts.fi

Professors and heads of programmes

    • Eeva Anttila

    • Professor, T/Tanssinopettajan maisteriohjelma, Theatre Academy
    • +358405858415
    • eeva.anttila@uniarts.fi
    • Tomi Humalisto

    • Professor, T/Valosuunnittelun koulutus- ja maisteriohjelmat, Theatre Academy
    • +358405074551
    • tomi.humalisto@uniarts.fi
    • Otso Huopaniemi

    • Professor, T/Dramaturgian ja näytelmän kirjoittamisen koulutusohjelma, Theatre Academy
    • +358505288364
    • otso.huopaniemi@uniarts.fi
    • Jari Kauppinen

    • Professor, T/Äänisuunnittelun koulutus- ja maisteriohjelmat, Theatre Academy
    • +358400792154
    • jari.kauppinen@uniarts.fi
    • Tuija Kokkonen

    • Professor, T/Tohtorikoulutus, Theatre Academy
    • +358503250708
    • tuija.kokkonen@uniarts.fi
    • Elina Knihtilä

    • Professor, T/Näyttelijäntaiteen koulutusohjelma, Theatre Academy
    • +358505240927
    • elina.knihtila@uniarts.fi
    • Saana Lavaste

    • Professor, T/Ohjauksen koulutusohjelma, Open Campus
      Hourly-paid Teacher, Y/Avoin yliopisto, Open Campus
    • +358505273873
    • saana.lavaste@uniarts.fi
    • Kirsi Monni

    • Professor in Choreography, Theatre Academy
    • +358405456350
    • kirsi.monni@uniarts.fi
    • Eeva Muilu

    • Professor, T/Tanssijantaiteen maisteriohjelma, Theatre Academy
    • +358456349704
    • eeva.muilu@uniarts.fi
    • Tero Nauha

    • Professor, T/Live Art and Performance Studies, Theatre Academy
    • +358504710467
    • tero.nauha@uniarts.fi
    • Leena Rouhiainen

    • Professor, T/Esittävien taiteiden tutkimuskeskus, Theatre Academy
    • +358400792093
    • leena.rouhiainen@uniarts.fi
    • Riku Saastamoinen

    • University Lecturer, T/Teatteriopettajan maisteriohjelma, Theatre Academy
    • +358400792037
    • riku.saastamoinen@uniarts.fi
    • Kristian Smeds

    • Professor, T/Näyttelijäntaiteen koulutusohjelma, Theatre Academy
    • +358504359655
    • kristian.smeds@uniarts.fi

Alumni and graduates

International Theatre Academy

By actively participating in international networks and collaboration projects we develop our education, artistic activity and research.

History

Learn about the Theatre Academy’s history and how three academies merged to become Uniarts Helsinki.

News