Academy of Fine Arts

We are an international academy with the focus on fine arts. We highlight students’ personal aspirations and one-to-one guidance in our teaching.

About us

We offer a highly esteemed programme within four subject areas: sculpture, painting, printmaking as well as time and space arts, which allows the student to specialise in moving image, site and situation-specific art or photography. We also offer the Praxis Master’s Programme in Exhibition Studies.

We are pioneers in the field of artistic research. Research and teaching are in close interaction with each other, and research is regarded as the underlying premise of contemporary art. Doctoral studies in fine arts provide students with skills needed in conducting independent artistic research.

Integral to fine arts are a curriculum that emphasises personal aspirations and freedom of choice, interaction between teachers and students and one-to-one guidance. We encourage students to find their own strengths, expression methods and interests within the field of fine arts.

Our teachers are distinguished visual artists and experts in various artistic fields. Artistic activities are integrated in the studies and offer students meaningful engagement with the art sector and the public.

Contact information

kuva.info@uniarts.fi

Admissions
kuva.admissions@uniarts.fi

Tel. +358 294 47 2000

P.O.Box 10
FI-00097 Uniarts

Studies

Research

Artistic activity and events

Deans

    • Johanna Vakkari

    • Deputy Dean, Academy of Fine Arts
    • Via executive assistant: +358 50 511 4838
    • maria.vataja@uniarts.fi
    • Mika Elo

    • Professori, K/Tohtorikoulutus ja tutkimus
    • +358503473969
    • mika.elo@uniarts.fi
    • Hanna Johansson

    • Professori, K/Nykytaiteen tutkimus
    • +358405419733
    • hanna.johansson@uniarts.fi

Professors

    • Mika Elo

    • Professori, K/Tohtorikoulutus ja tutkimus
    • +358503473969
    • mika.elo@uniarts.fi
    • Fergus Feehily

    • Professori, K/Maalaustaide
    • +358504653269
    • fergus.feehily@uniarts.fi
    • Ulrika Ferm

    • Tuntiopettaja, K/Nykytaiteen tutkimus
      Tuntiopettaja, K/Praxis, taiteen esittämiskäytännöt
    • ulrika.ferm@uniarts.fi
    • Hanna Johansson

    • Professori, K/Nykytaiteen tutkimus
    • +358405419733
    • hanna.johansson@uniarts.fi
    • Lea Kantonen

    • Professori, K/Kuvataiteen tohtoriohjelma
    • +358503063073
    • lea.kantonen@uniarts.fi
    • Daniel Peltz

    • Professori, K/Tila-aikataide
    • +358503289565
    • daniel.peltz@uniarts.fi
    • Anna-Kaisa Rastenberger

    • Professori, K/Praxis, taiteen esittämiskäytännöt
    • +358415141991
    • anna-kaisa.rastenberger@uniarts.fi
    • Anita Seppä

    • Professori, K/Taidehistoria ja -teoria
    • +358408609522
    • anita.seppa@uniarts.fi
    • Salla Tykkä

    • Professori, K/Tila-aikataide
    • +358504488538
    • salla.tykka@uniarts.fi
    • Annu Vertanen

    • Professori, K/Taidegrafiikka
    • +358456361600
    • anna-liisa.vertanen@uniarts.fi

About the Academy of Fine Arts

An international community

Uutisia