University Collegium

The Collegium strives to increase transparency and inclusivity in the Uniarts Helsinki's decision-making. Its members are professors, other staff members and students.

A student making a drawing on a white surface.

Role and remit of the Collegium

The remit of the University Collegium has been defined in the Universities Act. The University Collegium is responsible for selecting the external members to the University Board and confirming the election of the university community’s internal members to the Board. The Collegium also appoints financial auditors, approves financial statements and the annual report, and decides on the discharge of the rector and board members from liability.

The main objective of the Collegium’s activities is to increase the openness of the university’s decision-making. This includes giving the community the opportunity to participate in preparations concerning the strategy, budgets and operational plans and other decisions that are central to the university’s activities and future.

The Collegium consists of 18 members. Of those, six members represent professors, six represent other staff members, and six represent students. The term of the current University Collegium runs from 2021 to 2024.

Members of the university collegium from 2021–2024:


  1. Tuire Kuusi, deputy member Veli-Matti Puumala
  2. Heidi Partti
  3. Annu Vertanen, deputy member Riikka Stewen
  4. Tuija Hakkila-Helasvuo, deputy member Jukkis Uotila
  5. Lauri Suurpää, deputy member  Timo Kiiskinen
  6. Tuija Kokkonen, deputy member Tomi Humalisto

Other teaching and research staff and other personnel

  1. Alina Savolainen, deputy member Ann-Charlotte Karlsson
  2. Sami Linna, deputy member Ville Komppa
  3. Hannu Apajalahti, deputy member Vilma Timonen
  4. Tiina Halonen, deputy member Pihla Palteisto
  5. Hanna Loraine, deputy member Sanna Takala
  6. Ulla Tissari, deputy member Michaela Bränn

Students (during the term 1 January 2024–31 December 2024)

  1. Angelica Begazo, deputy member Juhani Rantanen
  2. Sara Pollari
  3. Emilia Keskivinkka, deputy member Mark Reid Bulatovic
  4. Aju Jurvanen, deputy member Willjam Fagerström
  5. Isabela Hueara Carneiro, deputy member Jingke Xu
  6. Olga Heikkilä, deputy member Artturi Vuorinen

The Colleguim chair is Tuire Kuusi, vice-chairman Alina Savolainen and the secretary is Katja Kiviharju.

Contact information

Via secretary Katja Kiviharju

Tel. +358 294 47 2000 (exchange)

P.O. Box L 10
FI-00097 Taideyliopisto