Creative Dialogue

Creative Dialogue is an annual international workshop for young instrumentalist and composers to learn new repertoire and experience the creative dialogue between music and its performers.

Kallio-Kuninkalan kurssikeskus

Throughout its eleven years of operation, the Creative Dialogue workshop has already united nearly one hundred composers and musicians from around the world.

Instrumentalists and composers usually study in the same educational institutions. Nonetheless, composition students rarely get the chance to work with musicians. Cellist Anssi Karttunen and composers Kaija Saariaho and Magnus Lindberg created the Creative Dialogue workshop concept in 2008 in collaboration with the Sibelius Academy to open up new horizons and create new dialogue between young artists. Since then, these workshops have been an integral part of international activities of the Sibelius Academy, University of the Arts Helsinki.

The first six Creative Dialogue workshops were held at the Acequia Madre House in Santa Fe, United States. In 2015, the workshop was held for the first time in Finland at the Kallio-Kuninkala course center in Järvenpää. Since then, the Creative Dialogue has been organized alternatively  in Finland and the United States. The workshop helps students to network and work closely together and deepen their understanding of how the relationships between composers and performers have influenced the history of music. Over the years, the workshops have been taught by Anssi Karttunen, Kaija Saariaho and Magnus Lindberg and visiting teachers like flutist Chen Halevi and soprano Barbara Hannigan, among others.

Teachers 2008-2019

  • Anssi Karttunen, 2008 – 2012, 2014 – 2019
  • Kaija Saariaho, 2008, 2015, 2017, 2019
  • Magnus Lindberg, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018
  • Timo Korhonen, 2011
  • Chen Halevi, 2012
  • Barbara Hannigan, 2014
  • Tuija Hakkila, 2015
  • John Paul Jones, 2016
  • David Poissonnier, 2017, 2018
  • Daniel Belcher, 2019

Photos and recordings from the past workshops

    Creative Dialogue IX

    Creative Dialogue VIII

    Creative Dialogue VII

    Creative Dialogue VI

    Creative Dialogue V

    Creative Dialogue IV

    Creative Dialogue III

    Creative Dialogue II

    Creative Dialogue I


Executive assistant Pinja Puha