Professor Rouhiainen appointed as a member of the Scientific Council for Social Sciences and Humanities

Head of the Uniarts Helsinki’s Research Institute, Leena Rouhiainen, has been appointed to the Scientific Council for Social Sciences and Humanities of the Research Council of Finland for the term 2025–2027.

The Finnish Government has established the Board and the Scientific Councils of the Research Council of Finland, as well as the Strategic Research Council operating in connection with the Research Council, for the term from January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2027. 

According to a press release from the Ministry of Education and Culture, candidates for these advisory bodies were solicited from the research community. The decision was made based on a proposal by the Ministry of Education and Culture.

The Scientific Councils 

The Research Council of Finland has three scientific councils. These councils grant funding for scientific research, monitor the impact of the funding, and promote research in collaboration with other bodies of the Research Council.

The Scientific Council for Social Sciences and Humanities 

Professor Aini Linjakumpu from the University of Lapland was appointed as the chair of the council.

In addition to Professor Leena Rouhiainen, the members are:

  • Professor Louis Clerc, University of Turku
  • Principal Lecturer Katri Halonen, Metropolia University of Applied Sciences
  • Professor Jaakko Husa, University of Helsinki
  • Research Professor Sakari Karvonen, National Institute for Health and Welfare
  • Professor Leena Kolehmainen, University of Helsinki
  • Associate Professor Catharina von Koskull, University of Vaasa
  • Professor Markku Lehtimäki, University of Turku
  • Professor Kalle Pajunen, Tampere University
  • Professor Anniina Suominen, Aalto University

Read more about the appointments on the Finnish Government’s website (only in Finnish and Swedish).