Anniversary logo Anniversary logo animation

Hooray! We are celebrating our 10-year anniversary in 2023! The celebrations will be themed around the future of arts.

Sounds of Sorrow and Hope

Music from the Second World War

Piano destroyed in an explosion Photo: iStock Photo


  • Anne Elisabeth Piirainen, clarinet
  • Kirill Kozlovski, piano
  • Pauline Klaus and Florent Billy, violins
  • Loic Abdelfettah, viola
  • Camille Renault, cello


  • Lev Zeitlin: Khidisher Tants for clarinet and string quartet
  • Boris Lyatoshinsky: 5 Preludes op.44 (1943) for piano
  • Mieczysław Weinberg: Clarinet Sonata op. 28 (1945) for clarinet and piano


  • Marc Lavry: 5 Jewish Dances (1945) for clarinet, piano and string quartet
  • Einar Englund: Piano Quintet (1941) for piano and string quartet

This is the Final Concert of the International Symposium “Perspectives on Music in Times of War”, within the EU-project “Music, War and Peace in Europe 1922–2022”.

Further information: Anne Elisabeth Piirainen,

Mannerheimintie renovation project

Access to the Musiikkitalo from the direction of Mannerheimintie will be difficult. We recommend that you allow enough time for your arrival and use the entrance on the side of Kansalaistori if possible. According to current information, the entrance to Mannerheimintie will also remain in use throughout the renovation, but pedestrian routes can be challenging at times.

We recommend following the official information channels of the renovation project, where you can find the most up-to-date information.


21.11.2023 at 19:00 – 21:00



Mannerheimintie 13a

00100 Helsinki

Helsinki Music Centre


Free admission

Location on map

See directions