Alumni Britt Al-Busultan, Yassine Khaled, Anssi Pulkkinen and Tiina Pyykkinen selected for residency programmes

Artists for the Acadmy of Fine Arts alumni residencies 2020 have been selected. International residencies support the careers of our fine arts alumni.

Rauno Träskelin Tiina Pyykkinen: Transmission

For many artists, an international residency that lasts for several months is an excellent opportunity to concentrate on artistic work. Residencies also create possibilities for encounters, discussions and creating networks. Uniarts Helsinki’s Academy of Fine Arts, together with the Saastamoinen Foundation, provides international opportunities and career support for its alumni in the form of residency grants.

International jurys made a preselection, based on which the residency partners selected four former students of the Academy of Fine Arts to participate in their programmes. Anssi Pulkkinen will go to ISCP in New York, Tiina Pyykkinen to Jan van Eyck in Maastricht, Britt Al-Busultan to Lift in Toronto, and Yassine Khaled to Space in London. In addition, Artor Jesus Inkerö will continue a residency that begun in 2019 in Amsterdam’s Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten. We will tell more about the selected artists later on. The Saastamoinen Foundation and the Academy of Fine Arts warmly congratulate all selected artists!

Yassine Khaled: Digital Destination
Process Festival Britt Al-Busultan: Proposal for A Future, live cinema performance, 2019
HAM Helsinki Art Museum Anssi Pulkkinen: Guide (Indefinite View), 2019.



Kaija Kaitavuori, art historian, lecturer, Uniarts Helsinki’s Academy of Fine Arts

Karin Laansoo, director, Estonian Contemporary Art Development Center

Sam Watson, curator and producer based in the UK and Antwerp; Co-Founder, CIRCA Projects (UK) & Drop City

Jan van Eyck Academie

Bruno Alves de Almeida, curator and resident liaison at the Jan van Eyck Academie, Maastricht

Björn Norberg, curator based in in Stockholm and Uppsala, Sweden

Marika Orenius, visual artist and Doctor of Arts, lecturer of art pedagogy at Uniart Helsinki’s Academy of Fine Arts


Tono Mejuto, filmmaker, photographer and architect, A Coruña, Spain

Salla Tykkä, visual artist, professor of moving image at Uniarts Helsinki’s Academy of Fine Arts

Mary Stark, artist, photographer and filmmaker, Manchester


Irini Papadimitriou, Creative Director, FutureEverything, Manchester

James Prevett, visual artist, lecturer at Uniarts Helsinki’s Academy of Fine Arts

Tinne Zenner, visual artist, filmmaker and programmer, Copenhagen

Earlier grant receivers


Anna Estarriola 2020

Jonna Kina 2019

Olli Keränen 2018

Bita Razavi 2017

Tuomas A. Laitinen 2016

Aleksi Kraama (ent. Linnamaa) 2015

Jan van Eyck Academie

Niina Tervo 2019–2020

Kristina Sedlerova 2018–2019

Joonas Hyvönen 2017–2018

Maria Pääkkönen 2016–2017

Meri Linna 2015–2016


Milja Viita 2019

Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten

Artor Jesus Inkerö 2019–2020


Minna Långström 2019

Josefina Nelimarkka 2018

The alumni residency programme is a part of an internationalisation project established by Uniarts Helsinki’s Academy of Fine Arts and the Saastamoinen foundation. The project aims to build a dialogue between teaching in fine arts and the international field of art. Read more about the project.