Prominent jury and new venues for the 50-year-old International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition

The most notable international classical music competition in Finland, the 11th International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition, will be held from 22 November to 3 December 2015. This time, the competition will occupy new arenas.

The preliminary round and the second round will be held in the Helsinki Conservatory Concert Hall. The finals will be heard at the Helsinki Music Centre, where the finalists will play with the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, led by Chief Conductor John Storgårds, and the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, led by Chief Conductor Hannu Lintu. The jury will comprise the following internationally well-established violinists and violin teachers: Pierre Amoyal, Serguei Azizian, Sigrún Edvaldsdóttir, Pekka Kauppinen, Sung-Ju Lee, Cho-Liang Lin, Gerhard Schulz and Krzystof Wegrzyn. The jury will be chaired by Veli-Matti Puumala.

Approximately 40 contestants will be accepted for the first round. Twenty contestants will be accepted for the second round. The names of those accepted for the competition will be announced on 17 September 2015. In the first and second round, the competitors will play both solo and with a pianist. In the second round, they will play one of the three best works composed for the First International Sibelius Composition Competition organised by the Sibelius Celebrations. In the finals, the six most successful competitors will each play two violin concertos, one of which will be the renowned Violin Concerto by Jean Sibelius.

The quinquennial International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition is one of the most prestigious music competitions in the world. The Sibelius Society of Finland launched the competition in 1965 in connection with the 100th anniversary of Sibelius’ birth. The competition is nowadays organised jointly by the Sibelius Society of Finland and the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki. The competition committee’s chair is Lauri Tarasti, who is also chairman of the Sibelius Society of Finland. The vice-chairs are Tuomas Auvinen, dean of the Sibelius Academy, and Lauri Ratia, M.Sc. (Eng.), the Sibelius Society of Finland’s board member.

The Finnish Broadcasting Company YLE will broadcast the entire competition on the radio and online. The finals will be broadcast on TV. Tickets to the competition events are available via Lippupalvelu.

For more information:

General Secretary Päivi Pousar
tel. +358 40 710 4217