Suora lähetys Musiikkitalosta 2.2. - Sibelius Academy Vocal Ensemble

| video

University of the Arts Helsinki / Sibelius Academy presents:

Sibelius Academy Vocal Ensemble – When I close my eyes I dream of peace

Helsinki Music Centre, Camerata, February 2nd 2018 - 19:00 (GMT+2)
More information and tickets to the concert

Reflections of nationalism in choral music by David Lang, Karin Rehnqvist and Francis Poulenc.

“Our land with peace, our land with swords, all of us are brave” are the opening words of The National Anthems by David Lang, which explores nationalism in all its aspects. What are the things that divide a nation or bring it together? Francis Poulenc wrote his masterpiece Figure humaine during the Second World War. Its text reflects the suffering of the French people under the enemy dictatorship and ends with a declaration of “liberté!”. Swedish composer Karin Rehnqvist was inspired to write When I close my eyes, I dream of peace when she discovered the title sentence by an 11-year-old Croatian boy dating from the war in the Balkans in the 1990s. The sentence is set in multiple languages in the piece. Till Ängeln med de brinnande händerna [To the angel with the burning hands] invokes the assistance of heaven to alleviate human agony.

Sibelius Academy Vocal Ensemble & choir conducting students of Sibelius Academy


David Lang: the national anthems
Suomen ensi-esitys / Finnish premiere

Marjut Tsokkinen, viulu
Yu-Rou Li, viulu
Eeva Pyrhönen, alttoviulu
Joasia Cieslak, sello

1. Our Land With Peace

2. Our Hearts Are Glowing
joht. Eleriin Müüripeal

3. Fame And Glory

4. Keep Us Free
Elisa Huovinen, soolosopraano
joht. Jari Koivistoinen

5. Our Common Fate
Sofia Lindroos, soolosopraano
joht. Kristina Bogataj

Karin Rehnqvist: Till Ängeln med de brinnande händerna
Suomen ensi-esitys / Finnish premiere

Sofia Lindroos, lausuja
Tove Djupsjöbacka, soolosopraano
Joel Ward, falsetti
Dimas Ruiz Santos, oboe
joht. Tatu Erkkilä

Väliaika / Intermission


Francis Poulenc: Figure humaine

1. De tous les printemps du monde

2. En chantant les servants s'élancent

3. Aussi bas que le silence
joht. George Parris

4. Toi ma patiente

5. Riant du ciel et des planètes

6. Le jour m'étonne
joht. Korbinian Krol

7. La menace sous le ciel rouge

8. Liberté
joht. Lily Solomonov


Karin Rehnqvist: When I close my eyes I dream of peace
Suomen ensi-esitys / Finnish premiere

joht. Visa Yrjölä
Sibelius Akatemian Vokaaliyhtye

Videotuotanto - Video production:
Video:  Keijo Lahtinen
Sound:  Mikko Ingman
Lights:  Sirje Ruohtula
Producers:  Arturo Alvarado, Joni Käenmäki

Check out our other concert broadcasts:
Youtube channel: Uniarts Helsinki 

All copyrighted music licenced by Teosto, the Finnish Composers' Copyright Society.