Contemporaries of Sibelius

Keskiviikko, marraskuu 4, 2015 - 19:00 - 20:40
Music Centre, Camerata
Lipunmyynti alkaa 15.06.2015 09:00
Liput: 5.00 EUR-15.00 EUR€
Lippuja saatavissa
Music by Paul Dukas, Aleksandr Glazunov, Albéric Magnard and Carl Nielsen.

The Sibelius 150th jubilee year with its numerous concerts is a landmark event in the Finnish music scene. However, there were many other renowned composers who were born in the same year. The orchestral works of the Danish composer Carl Nielsen are regularly heard, but only very few of the works by the Russian composer Aleksandr Glazunov are still played. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, an orchestral piece by the French composer Paul Dukas, is familiar to the general public. The most exceptional of the concert’s composers is Albéric Magnard, a French composer who tragically lost his life during the early stages of World War I. Only a few dozen of his scores survived the war, although among them are some operas and large works of orchestral and chamber music. The concert is centred on the composers’ vocal and piano music, but some short works of chamber music are also included. The concert is one of the anniversary events of Sibelius 150 jubilee year.

Marko Hilpo, Kiril Kozlovsky, Joel Papinoja, Ilmo Ranta, piano
Miina-Liisa Värelä, soprano
Robert Näse, baritone
Lauri Vasala, French horn

Terhi Luukkonen, 040 710 436,