Six violinists chosen to the finals of Sibelius Violin Competition

Six contestants have been qualified to the finals of the 11. International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition. The names of the contestants in performance order, and the optional violin concerto in the finals are:

  • Starkloff, Friederike Germany / J. Brahms
  • Tjeknavorian, Emmanuel Austria / J. Brahms
  • Yoshida, Minami Japan / P. Tshaikovski
  • Zhou Nancy USA / P. Tshaikovski
  • Kanagawa, Mayumi USA / A. Berg
  • Lee, Christel USA / B. Bartók


The finals are held in Helsinki Music Centre during December, 1-3 starting at 18.00 daily. Performances of four contestants will be heard each night. The complete performance order will be published during November, 29 on the competition website Each contestant will perform Sibelius Violin Concerto in d minor op. 47 and one of the following concertos: Bártok no 2, Beethoven, Berg, Brahms, Mendelssohn op. 64, Nielsen, Paganini no 1, Prokofjev no1, Prokofjev no 2, Shostakovitsh no 1, Tshaikovski. The contestants will perform as the soloists of The Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra (conductor John Storgårds) and The Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (conductor Hannu Lintu)


The winners will be announced in the Concert Hall on December, 3 approximately at 21.30. Photographing is allowed during the prize giving ceremony.

Competitor photographs taken during first rounds are available at

The competition is organized jointly by the Sibelius Society of Finland and the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki.


For more information:
Terhi Luukkonen
Press officer
+358 40 710 4368
Twitter: #sibeliusviolin