Finalists for the V International Harald Andersén Chamber Choir Competition chosen

The following choirs have been chosen to qualify to the final round of the V International Harald Andersén Chamber Choir Competition (in competition order, performing time announced before the choir's name):

13:05 Spira Ensemble
13:25 S:t Jacobs Ungdomskör
13:45 Collegium Musicale


14:35 Ahjo Ensemble
14:55 Youth Choir Kamer…
15:15 New Dublin Voices

The preliminary round was sung on Friday September 23rd.

The final competition round is held in the Helsinki Music Centre concert hall on September 24th at 1 p.m. The results will be announced in the Gala concert on September 24th at 7 p.m. The jury will choose the gala programme from the performances of the competing choirs. In addition to the competition choirs’ performances, the gala concert will also feature vocal group Club for Five. The event will be hosted by Tuukka Haapaniemi. Both the final and the gala concert can be followed also online. They are streamed live on the websites of the Finnish Broadcasting Company.

V International Harald Andersén Chamber Choir Competition is organized by the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki. Pension Insurance Company Elo is the main cooperative partner of the competition. The jury consists of Fredrik Malmberg (Sweden), Ko Matsushita (Japan), Daniel Reuss (Germany), Marjukka Riihimäki (Finland) and Jaakko Mäntyjärvi (Finland). The first prize is 10 000 euros. In addition, a special prize from the Society of Finnish Composers of 1 000 € for the best performance of the mandatory competition will be awarded. The Finnish Broadcasting Company is also awarding an Yle prize to the best Finnish choir of the competition.

More information:
Competition coordinator Terhi Luukkonen
tel. +358 40 710 4389,