Postponed: Online concert: Young artists of the spring: Linda Suolahti

No-man’s-land between love and fear.

Linda Suolahti is watching on right behing some bushes.
Maarit Kytöharju

The concert has been postponed. The original date was 24.5.

Concert will be broadcast on Yle Radio 1 on 3.6.

You can watch a free live stream of the concert on Youtube, 31 May, 19–20.

“My restless, mercurial soul
traverses the dark waters staggering,
sometimes skimming the surface,
sometimes touching the seabed.
It glances around lowly like a newborn birch tree.

Human figure, touch – physical or mental –
and its absence
create impressions that make us think,
make us identify,
make us draw conclusions.
A grotesque dance filled with backbeats conjures forth emotion in the musical medley of life
where I lie, longing.
To you, my love. Greetings from the no-man’s-land between love and fear.
– me.”

Poem: Linda Suolahti

The programme of the concert is a depiction of estranged souls that wander in parallel through a life coloured by feelings of love and fear and by utter uncertainty. It is up to the listener to decide who these wanderers are. The moods are jarring and violent, yet the pieces also contain a deep solace, beautiful memories and stories of a shared past. These lend the strength to continue. The music is very earthy, and for all its technical complexity it is thus accessible and compelling.

Linda Suolahti, violin
Marko Hilpo, piano


Mieczysław Weinberg: Rhapsody on Moldavian themes op 47/1 (8’) (1949)
Saariaho: Tocar (7’) (2010)
Enescu: Impressions d’enfance Op.28 (25’) (1940)
Bartók: Sonata no. 1 for violin and piano Sz.75 (35’) (1921)

Further information: Eeva Hohti

The Young artists of the spring series presents recent graduates and students of the Sibelius Academy of Uniarts Helsinki who have excelled in their studies.


31.5.2021 at 19:00 – 20:25


Online concert


Free admission