Event has a new date

Young Artists of the Winter concert series: Claudia Reyes

Claudia Reyes Segovia and Pau Fernández Benlloch are standing in a dark space. Only half of their both faces are showing.

We will comply with coronavirus restrictions

Based on an order issued by the Regional State Administrative Agency for Southern Finland, the events of the University of the Arts Helsinki have been cancelled for the public until 31 January 2022. We will comply with the Agency’s guidelines, and the concerts will be arranged live in a safe manner as soon as possible.

You can watch a free live stream of the concert on Youtube, 12 February, 14–15 and as a free recording right after that.

The tights of Ferruccio Busoni (1866–1924) with Finland are widely known. The italian pianist, composer, conductor and teacher taught in Sibelius Academy (1888–1890) and later became one of the most influential figures in European music scene. Perhaps lesser known is Busoni’s wide output for clarinet and piano. Having grown with a clarinetist father, Busoni knew well the instrument and wrote a remarkable amount of piecer for it throughout his carreer. In this concert we will hear his Suite BV 88, a part of his Frühe Charakterstücke, and two more mature pieces of his catalogue: Reverue pastorale and his Novelette, BV 116.

Another interesting side of Busoni’s figure was his role as a teacher and active encourager of avant-garde composers – he himself was a pioneer in theorizing about electronic music. Therefore, bearing in mind this progressive spirit, we have chosen to pair Busoni’s works with brand new and brilliant pieces that enrich largely the contemporary clarinet-piano repertoire: on the one side, the European premiere of Esconden su radiante imagen a piece written specifically for Aión Dúo and part of an interdisciplinary project with the young Spanish composer Claudia Cañamero (1995-), inspired in the words of the Ancient Greek poet Sappho, and the brilliant, folkish and crazily dynamic Sonata by one of the leading Finnish composer, Sebastian Fagerlund.


Aión Dúo:

  • Claudia Reyes Segovia, clarinet
  • Pau Fernández Benlloch, piano


  • Busoni,
  • Cañamero,
  • Fagerlund

Ferruccio Busoni: Suite, BV 88 Op. 10

  • I. Improvisata
  • II. Barcarola
  • III. Elegia
  • IV. Danza campestre
  • V. Tema variator
  • VI. Serenata

Claudia Cañamero: …Esconden su radiante imagen*

  • Perfil dudoso
  • Nos estás abrasando

Ferruccio Busoni

  • Reverie Pastorale
  • Novelette in D minor, BV 116

Sebastian Fagerlund: Sonata for clarinet and piano

  • I. Meccanico con forza
  • II. Lento misterioso
  • III. Introduzione quasi libero – Esaltato

* World Premiere

Further information: Anna Huuskonen

Young Artists of the Winter concert series

The Young Artists of the Winter series 21.1.–15.2.2022 presents recent graduates and students of the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki who have excelled in their studies.


12.2.2022 at 14:00 – 15:00



Mannerheimintie 13a

00100 Helsinki

Helsinki Music Centre


Ticket sales begin 5.1.2022

Further information

We want to create a safe event experience even during the corona. Please read the safety instructions here before arriving at the event.

Location on map

See directions