Francophonia Concert

Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 19:00
Temppeliaukion kirkko
Free entry
Concert which unites France and Finland.

The French institute in collaboration with Sibelius Academy is happy to present for one prestigious evening the Francophonia Orchestra. Coming from France, Belgium, Estonia, Finland, and various other countries specially for the Francophonia Concert in Finland, each musician, beyond his vital role in the orchestra, promotes and shares his instrumental and orchestral traditions, culture, and experience through the collective music-making.

An important component in creating the orchestra was to ‘match-make’ the players in a professional way but within a lively and electrifying atmosphere. This unifying spirit is what drives the orchestra and makes it truly unique and outstanding.

Conductor James Salomon Kahane, pianist Thomas Puissochet, as well as most musicians in the orchestra are currently studying at the Sibelius Academy and contribute to the strong cultural relationships that units France and Finland.

This evening will showcase pieces by some of the most reknown French composers like Ravel and Debussy. Brahms piano concerto No. 1 will crown the evening.

James Salomon Kahane (FR), conductor
Thomas Puissochet (FR), piano
Francophonia Orchestra

Debussy, Ravel, Brahms

The concert is free, but we recommend to fill in the link below to reserve a seat:

Within the Sibelius Academy, this concert counts as Thomas Puissochet's A-Exam and as James Kahane's B-Exam.



Claude Debussy : Images – Première série

Reflets dans l’eau
Hommage à Rameau

Maurice Ravel : Le tombeau de Couperin


- Intermission -

Johannes Brahms : pianokonsertto nro 1 d-molli op. 15



Conductor; James Kahane (FR)

Pianist; Thomas Puissochet (FR)

Flutes; Livia Schweizer (IT), Heta Aho (FI).
Oboes; Tuomas Tenkanen (FI), Juuli Markkanen (FI).
Clarinets; Erle Kont (ES), José Carlos Domínguez Almela (SP).
Bassoons; Topias Kiiskinen (FI), Alan Davidson (BR).

Horns; Thomas Bocquet (FR), Pierre-Antoine Lalande (FR), Meyer Wasserman (FR), Akseli Äikäs (FI).
Trumpets; Thomas Bugnot (FR), Sebu Rysä (FI).

Timpani; Aino Nisula (FI).

1st Violins; Alon Yariv - Concertmaster - (IL), Emma Mali (FI), Pauline Fornara Humbert (FR), Aino Szalai (FI), Emil Hartikainen (FI), Jeremy Krief (FR).
2nd Violins; Maria Räisänen - Section Leader - (FI), Hadrien Delmotte (FR), Matilda Seppälä (FI), Yu-Rou Li (TW), Marina Fuster (DE), Maija Mustonen (FI).
Violas; Pedro Pablo Vasquez, (GR), Laure Ramon Tissino (FR), Margarethe Breit (DE), Johanna Paananen (FI).
Contrabass; Joonas Korjus (FI), Vilhelm Karlsson (FI), Aleksi Ruonavaara (FI).

Further information:
James Salomon Kahane, +358 46 6569671,