From Colorado to Helsinki

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 19:00
Music Centre, Camerata
Free entry
Music of Conor Brown, Daniel Kellogg and Robert Schumann.

Music of Conor Brown, Daniel Kellogg and Robert Schumann performed by artists from the University of Colorado (Boulder, USA) and the Sibelius Academy.

The concert features the first performance of a new work by American Composer Conor Brown written to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Finnish Independence, Ladun hiihan laulajille (I’ll ski a trail for singers).


Conor Abbott Brown: Ladun hiihan laulajille (I’ll Ski a Trail for Singers)
I. Hirvi (The Elk)
II. Tehtii kylvy kynttelillä (We Planted by Candlelight)
III. Aurinko ja kuu (Sun and Moon)
Alicia Jo Baker, accordion and soprano; Daniel Silver, clarinet; Renee Hemsing-Patten, violin; Tom Yaron, violin; Mario Rivera, viola; Eric Haugen, cello

Daniel Kellogg: Kullervo Cursing for Two Bass Clarinets
Conor Brown Daniel Silver, bass clarinets


Robert Schumann: Quintet for Piano and Strings Op. 44 in E flat Major
I. Allegro brillante
II. In Modo d'una Marcia. Un poco largamente
III. Scherzo. Molto vivace - Trio 1 & 2
IV. Allegro, ma non troppo
Ajax Quartet: Tom Yaron and Renee Hemsing-Patten, violins; Mario Rivera, viola; Eric Haugen, cello
Anton Mejias, piano

Further information:
Pauli Raitakari, 050 511 6467,