Anniversary logo Anniversary logo animation

Hooray! We are celebrating our 10-year anniversary in 2023! The celebrations will be themed around the future of arts.

Mirrorings by Piano and String Quartet

At the concert with pianist Paavali Jumppanen and the Kamus String Quartet, several factors mirror one another.

The solo piano and the string quartet – two key configurations for performing Western music – mirror one another at this concert. In the programme, Modernist classical pieces composed by Arnold Schönberg and Bela Bartók in the 1920s mirror the music written by present-day Finnish composers Lauri Kilpiö and Outi Tarkiainen. The Austrian-born Schönberg and the Hungarian Bartók also mirror one another. Similarly, Kilpiö from Helsinki and Tarkiainen from Utsjoki mirror not only each other, but also the classics of Central Europe.


  • Paavali Jumppanen, piano

Kamus string quartet

  • Terhi Paldanius, violin
  • Jukka Untamala, violin
  • Jussi Tuhkanen, viola
  • Petja Kainulainen, cello


Bela Bartók: Im Freien
Mit Trommeln und Pfeifen
Klänge der Nacht

Lauri Kilpiö: Piano sonata (premier)


Outi Tarkiainen: Trois poèmes
I. Vision II. Désir III. Dépendance

Arnold Schönberg: String quartet nro 3
Theme and Variations (Adagio)
Intermezzo (Allegro moderato)
Rondo (Molto moderato)

Additional information: Matti Leisma,


12.1.2023 at 19:00 – 21:00


6,50–18 €

Ticket sales begin 5.1.2023

Buy tickets