Anniversary logo Anniversary logo animation

Hooray! We are celebrating our 10-year anniversary in 2023! The celebrations will be themed around the future of arts.

Soikoon! New ensemble pieces

New ensemble pieces by composition students to texts by writing and dramaturgy students.

The concert will feature new works by the Sibelius Academy’s composition students and the Theatre Academy’s writing and dramaturgy students. The pieces have been written for soprano Tuuli Lindeberg and the 7-member Uusinta Ensemble.

In the academic year 2021-2022, students have participated in a textual/poetry analysis course, during which participants have paired up and begun their collaboration. The pairs have continued their collaboration towards creating a finished piece during the academic year 2022-2023. The teachers in charge of the course have been the Head of the Degree Programme in Dramaturgy, Lecturer Jusa Peltoniemi, doctoral student of Dramaturgy Klaus Maunuksela and Professor of Composition Veli-Matti Puumala. The cource was a joint project of programmes of writing (Theatre Academy) and composing and music theory (Sibelius Academy).

The concert has been preceded by Tuuli Lindeberg’s demonstrative lecture for composition students and a workshop with the ensemble. The composition students can also keep in touch with the ensemble’s musicians before and after the workshop. The workshop and the concert are a part of long-term artistic and educational activity in composition and music theory, which provides young composition students with the opportunity to develop their skills and network.


  • Jin Oh – Selma Lähteenmäki: Uusi teos (sopr, cl, sax, vc, pno) 
  • Ossi Hiltunen – Elina Sallinen: Uusi teos (sopr, fl, cl, vl, vla, pno) 
  • Mathias Waenerberg – Maryam Magomedov : Uusi teos (sopr, fl, sax, vl) 
  • Sophia Chambon – Eeva Halonen: Uusi teos (sopr, fl, cl, vl, vla, pno) 
  • Þorkell Nordal – Elina Sallinen: Uusi teos (sopr, vl, vla, vc, pno) 


  • Tuuli Lindeberg, soprano

The Uusinta Ensemble:

  • Malla Vivolin, flute
  • Lucy Abrams-Husso, clarinet
  • Joonatan Rautiola, saxophone
  • Maria Puusaari, violin
  • Max Savikangas, viola
  • Pinja Nuñez, cello
  • Fanny Söderström, piano

Additional information: Janne Ikäheimo,

Mannerheimintie renovation project

Mannerheimintie renovation project will begin on March 6th between the Postikatu and Runeberginkatu streets.

Access to the Musiikkitalo from the direction of Mannerheimintie will be difficult. We recommend that you allow enough time for your arrival and use the entrance on the side of Kansalaistori if possible. According to current information, the entrance to Mannerheimintie will also remain in use throughout the renovation, but pedestrian routes can be challenging at times.

We recommend following the official information channels of the renovation project, where you can find the most up-to-date information.


29.5.2023 at 19:00 – 20:00



Mannerheimintie 13a

00100 Helsinki

Helsinki Music Centre



Buy tickets

Further information

A 20% group discount (for groups of at least 10 people) is available when purchasing tickets at the Helsinki Music Centre or via the Ticketmaster website, box offices or customer service by calling 0600 10 800 (€2.00 / min+local network charge).

Location on map

See directions